University of Calgary
UofC Navigation

Stay Connected

Course Learning Outcomes

Undergrad Student Forms

Fac. of Science IT Support

Donate to our Faculty


Department of Biological Sciences

Biological Sciences 186 
University of Calgary
2500 University Dr NW
Calgary, AB T2N 1N4 Canada
+1 (403) 220-5261
+1 (403) 289-9311 (Fax)

Recognizing Excellence - Awards 2012



Brockhouse Prize
Ken Ng (Team)

Killam Annual Professor Research award
Andre Buret

Killam Emerging Research Leader Award award
Sean Rogers

SU Teaching Excellence Awards
Richard Walker - Hall of Fame
Tony Russell - Winner
Kyla Flanagan - Honourable Mention

U Make a Difference
Tony Russell

ASTech Honouree
Tony Russell - Outstanding contribution to the Alberta Science & Tech community

Faculty of Science Award of Excellence in Community Outreach
Hamid Habibi and Leland Jackson

Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada
Hans Vogel

NSERC EWR Steacie Fellowship
Sergei Noskov

Fellow of the Ecological Society of America
Edward Johnson



NSERC Discovery Grants
Habibi, Hamid R.
Harder, Lawrence D.
Prenner, Elmar J.
Ro, Dae-Kyun
Ruckstuhl, Kathreen
Syme ,Douglas A.
Vize, Peter D.
Wong, Sui-Lam
Yeung, Edward C.
Zimmerly, Steven

NSERC Discovery Accelerator supplement
Lawrence Harder
Da-Kyun Ro

Andre Buret

Alberta Innovates Technology Futures Strategic Chair Tier 1 in Molecular Stimulation (2012-17)
Peter Tieleman

Canada Research Chairs (CRC) at the University of Calgary
Joe Harrison
Mathilakath Vijayan
Dae-Kyun Ro (renewal)

Canada foundation for Innovation
Joe Harrison

AIHS collaborative Research & Innovation Opportunities Collaborative project funding
Hans Vogel